COURSES‎ > ‎

Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Course

Carry Concealed in over 30 States
This course is required by law for those over 21 who meet the eligibility requirements for the Utah Non-Resident Pistol Permit. This course is for those living outside the state of Utah, who would like the benefit of traveling outside NY State with a concealed firearm in over 30 states. While a NY State permit is NOT required to take this course, the Utah permit is NOT VALID within NY State, and therefore cannot be used to purchase, possess, transport, handle, carry or use a firearm in NY State. Permits generally arrive at your door 60 - 70 business days after your paperwork is received in Utah. 

The Utah Permit is renewable after five (5) years with no additional training.

The following states currently honor the Utah Non-resident permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

For the complete list of reciprocity with other states, see the Utah Department of Public Safety website or click on this website: http://www.usacarry.com/concealed_carry_permit_reciprocity_maps.html, and utilize the map to find reciprocity coverage given your resident and non resident permits

Course Includes:     
  • Utah Concealed Firearm Act Class
  • Handgun Safety
  • Utah Application and self addressed envelope
  • Passport Photo
  • Copy of Drivers License
  • Fingerprints
  • Upon completion: Instructors Stamp
  • Blank applications for Florida and Arizona Permits

All you have to do after you attend the course is put all of the paperwork from the course, a copy of your driver’s license, and a check for $51.00 made out to Utah BCI, in the envelope and send it all off in the mail! The course fee DOES NOT include the processing fee for Utah.

Florida and Arizona Permits:

Note that acquiring a Florida permit in addition to the Utah permit will provide you the added coverage of the states of Florida and New Mexico according to the reciprocity maps found on the website above. Florida and New Mexico are not included in the Utah permit. The fee to acquire the permit from the state of Florida is $112. The permit is valid for seven years.

Acquiring an Arizona permit in addition to the Utah permit will provide you with the added coverage of the State of Nevada only. Please note that Arizona is already included in the Utah permit reciprocity according to the reciprocity maps found on the above website. The fee to acquire the permit from the state of Arizona is $60 and the permit is valid for five years. Renewals are: $43. 

Duration: 4 hours

Equipment Requirements:

  • No handgun is required for this class.
  • A BLACK ink pen and a 1 subject notebook.
  • Your state Driver's License.

Pre-requisites:

  • None

This is not an NRA-approved course.

Presented by:
Instructor: Craig Van Schaick

Contact Your Instructor - Eli Saber